Cart 0
The Great Southern Ocean - Laura Flanagan


The Great Southern Ocean - Laura Flanagan

$ 16.00

2020 release from Laura Flanagan

Laura Flanagan is an outstanding Irish traditional fiddler from Lubbock, Texas. She has traveled widely in the United States and Ireland to study with fiddlers Randal Bays, John Carty, James Kelly, Martin Hayes, and Brendan Larrissey.   Laura has performed and taught at music camps over the past decade, including ZoukFest, The Cascadia Irish Music Week, O’Flaherty Irish Music Retreat, and the West Texas Chamber Music Strings Camp. She has also performed with American Irish bouzouki master and scholar Roger Landes, and in March of 2020 she released her first solo fiddle album, The Great Southern Ocean, with Australian master musicians Peter Daffy (guitar) and Luke Plumb (bouzouki).
1. REELS: Love at the Endings (Ed Reavy) / Redican’s (Larry Redican) / Maura Connolly’s (Sean Ryan) 
 2. HORNPIPES: Tuamgraine Castle / The Harp and Shamrock (Pat Crowley)
 3. JIGS: Lucy Farr’s / Apples in Winter / Music On the Wind (Lucy Farr)
 4. MARCH: St Sinneach’s March (Sean Ryan) 
 5. REELS: The Crosses of Annagh (Bobby Casey) / Ormond Sound (Paddy O’Brien, Co. Tipperary) / Garrett Barry’s 
 6. POLKAS: Gob Lacan (John Walsh) / The Four Shoves / Leather Away With the Wattle O
 7. JIGS: The Nightingale (Sean Ryan) / The Piper’s Chair / The Black Rogue
 8. REELS: Anderson’s / Forget Me Not (Larry Redican) / Miss Thornton’s
 9. HORNPIPES: O’Flaherty’s / Callahan’s Hornpipe
 10. POLKAS: The Little Diamond / Humours of Ballydesmond / Top of Maol
 11. WALTZ: The Belltable (Maurice Lennon and Kieran Hanrahan)
 12. REELS: The Whistling Postman / The Graf Spee
 13. JIGS: The Gold Ring / Condon’s Frolics / The High Part of the Road
 14. AIR: The Great Southern Ocean (Laura Flanagan)

Tracks 1, 2, 5, 8, 9, and 12 were recorded in West Brunswick, Victoria by Luke Plumb 

Tracks 3, 4, 6, 10, and 11 were recorded in Camperdown, Victoria by Peter Daffy 

Tracks 7, 13 and 14 were recorded at the Crossroads Studio, by Amy DeVoge at Texas Tech University in Lubbock, Texas 

Additional recording on tracks 7 and 13 was done by Luke Plumb in Camperdown, Victoria 

All tracks were edited, mixed and mastered by Luke Plumb 

Produced by Luke Plumb & Laura Flanagan 

Cover artwork © Susan Felton 2020

Share this Product